Shoulder Clinic

Shoulder Fellowship

Shoulder Fellowship

A/Professor Cutbush is Chief Supervisor of two Fellowships in Shoulder Arthroscopy and Arthroplasty.  These fellowships are both accredited with the Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA).

The principal supervisors of the fellowships are A/Professor Ken Cutbush and A/Professor Ashish Gupta. Co-supervisors of the fellowship are Dr Tony O’Neill and Professor Ross Crawford.

The fellowship gives exposure to advanced arthroscopic shoulder surgery and shoulder arthroplasty.  Fellows will receive training in all aspects of shoulder surgery.  The training will encompass arthroscopic rotator cuff repair including revision surgery and superior capsular reconstruction; instability surgery and arthroscopic bone block procedures, including arthroscopic posterior bone block and arthroscopic latarjet surgery.

The fellow will gain exposure to arthroscopic reconstruction procedures for AC Joint instability both chronic and acute; tendon transfers as isolated procedures and combined with shoulder replacement; postoperative and post-traumatic surgical release of contractures including for joint replacement surgery; frozen shoulder release; brachial plexus release and dissection; reconstruction of profound axillary, suprascapular and musculocutaneous nerve injuries using nerve transfers; and shoulder fusions.

It is the aim of the fellowship that the fellow will develop a high level of competency in and an affinity for shoulder surgery.

The shoulder fellow works at the Greenslopes Hospital, Brisbane Private Hospital and Princess Alexandra Hospital. There is a robust research link to the Queensland University of Technology.
Expressions of interest by email are encouraged. Please email Kenneth Cutbush using the expression of interest form below.

Ideally, the expression of interest would include, a curriculum vitae, covering letter (preferably giving some insight into the applicant’s interest in shoulder surgery, their desire to undertake the fellowship and their future career hopes) and referees with email and phone numbers.
Current Fellows:

Dr Mirek Karel from the Netherlands

Dr Wu Kang from Malaysia

Dr Christopher Child from Germany

Previous Fellows:


Dr Helen Ingoe from the United Kingdom

Dr Mohammad Jomaa from Lebanon

Dr Roberto Pareyón Valero from Mexico


Dr Freek Hollman from the Netherlands


Dr Ridzwan Namazie from Auckland, New Zealand


Dr Kathirazhagan Stalin from India


Dr Andrew Ker from Glasgow, Scotland (

Dr Bart-Jan Veen from Groningen, The Netherlands (


Dr Naghman Choudhry from Manchester, England (

Dr Praveen Vijaysegaran from Brisbane, Australia (

Dr Kristine Italia from Manilla, Philippines (

Dr Rishi Narasimhan from Newcastle, Australia (

Dr Jillian Lee from Auckland, New Zealand (

Dr Noel Peter from Oxford, England (

Dr Kieran Hirpara from Dublin, Ireland (

There is a broad exposure to shoulder surgery as well as a strong research focus.  Fellows are encouraged to publish and are supported in their endeavours by several research assistants.  Support for airfares and conference registration fees is available for fellows to present scientific papers.  Fellows are well supervised with clinical work by Dr Ashish Gupta and Dr Kenneth Cutbush.

There are two Australian Orthopaedic Association accredited fellowship positions. The positions are interchangeable. Fellows are usually appointed for 12 months, however, 6 month positions are possible.

We aim to appoint fellows 12 to 24 months in advance. We usually Skype with candidates well before the selection so that we and the potential fellows can get a feel for how well we might work together.

Australian Orthopaedic Association (AOA) Accredited Fellowships

Australian Health Practitioner’s Regulation Agency (AHPRA)